Gigs, drinks and 30 year olds…

Ramble number 3. T minus: 3…2…1….

So one month gone in 2010 already – good times. Plus points: 1 – my arm is almost back to 100% usefulness (although I still do the usual and lean on it, making it hurt and in turn making me cry out like a little girl – never a good look) 2 – First gig of 2010 is done, and more are planned (good times). Not only have I been to one of the cutest little gig venues ever, i may have only been doing gigs for around a year but still Bush Hall is definately one I would want to go back to, but I have also seen a band of 2010 (apparently) These New Puritans… Having their first album I thought I’d know what to expect, needless to say I didn’t expect what I saw. Drums, drums, a brass band (quality!) drums and a few more drums were added into the mix! I also feel they have lost one member of their band… the young lady appears to be missing in  action! Considering the drums, they are still a good little band to go and see! Of course my gigging future was dashed 2 days later when I stupidly tried to get tickets for Florence + the Machine (both in the presale on Flo’s own website and then the general sale) How is it possible for all tickets to be sold out in  2 minutes – in both sales?? Could Florence be more popular then Jesus??? She may be one of the most attractive red-heads I have ever set my eyes on but bigger then Jesus??? Still as long as I can get to see her in one shape or form this year I will be a happy bunny! Roll on festival season is what I say!

Which leads on to the next event of my 2010 thus far… drink… (After all festivals and drink go hand in hand do they not?) After a week and a bit of forced non-alcoholism due to me being on medication for the old fractured arm, I thought it only right to make up for it when I could! Friends, work associates, random strangers on the street unite for the love of booze! No I kid, the main reason for drink has been for the celebration of a young man becoming an old man – yes thats right its the event we all fear – turning 30… God imagine… what that is like?! Grey hair, teeth falling out, losing control of your bowels – isn’t that what happens to everyone when they hit the magical age of 30. But no Mr Blumson, the stud of the office (lets see if I can embarrass him just a little) turned that magical age on the eve of February. So the best way to celebrate? Well for him it was to get drunk 3 days running! He started early, by the time we found him at the venue of choice at half 7, we all knew he was on the way to having a very sore head the next day (and for a few more after that) Of course to mention the P-dog and not actually show him off to the world would be a great shame – so here are some pictures of shame! Of course they are doing the rounds on a very popular social networking website (others are of course available for viewing pleasure) these are just a selection so you can get an idea of the jollities had…

So a big shout out to the Paul of Blumson! The man about town with a heart of gold.  A 30 year old man who, to all intents and purposes, has the mind of a 12 year old (It’s probably part of his charm) Who has a poll in the office for how many times I “loud” laugh during the working day (apparently it all depends on who I’m talking to), a man who sees how many times he can get cups of tea made for him and glasses of water brought to him, its a miracle he doesn’t expect us to feed him! He never tires of the compliments he receives on a day to day basis (ok, ok I know its a little pot, kettle, black – but when emphasis is off me, the toys come out of the pram) Ultimately he is the love of the office (bas***d) and although his bowels may be called into question now, and the fact it will get to half past 9 on a friday night now and he will turn to us and say “anyone up for a mug of horlics?” you just can’t not love him… Theres only one more thing to add to this – I will die a happy boy when / if I can ever kiss my “guns” just like he does – pure genius…

So I’m thinking of having a Sex and the City moment at the end of each of these blogs… just like SJP does while she is writing her article or something (I have to be honest, I really can not pay attention through an entire episode of SATC – too many bright colours distracting me) So here goes. Seeing someone close to me turn an age I can only imagine can prompt a massive change to ones life should they not be where they wanted to be aged 30, it makes me wonder…  What would be a good holiday destination this year? Would the P-meister appreciate a card from Barbados or something, while he is experiencing his mid-life crisis? Food for thought I think…

~ by rugarvey on February 4, 2010.

Leave a comment